Oxford Time Travel Series

by Connie Willis

3.67 avg rating
Book 36 of 72 in the Best Science Fiction Series
29 votes 1 comments
Winner of the Nebula Award

Traveling back in time, from Oxford circa 2060 into the thick of World War II, was a routine excursion for three British historians eager to study firsthand the heroism and horrors of the Dunkirk evacuation and the London Blitz. But getting marooned in war-torn 1940 England has turned Michael Davies, Merope Ward, and Polly Churchill from temporal tourists into besieged citizens struggling to survive Hitler’s devastating onslaught. And now there’s more to worry about than just getting back home: The impossibility of altering past events has always been a core belief of time-travel theory—but it may be tragically wrong. When discrepancies in the historical record begin cropping up, it suggests that one or all of the future visitors have somehow changed the past—and, ultimately, the outcome of the war. Meanwhile, in 2060 Oxford, the stranded historians’ supervisor, Mr. Dunworthy, frantically confronts the seemingly impossible task of rescuing his students—three missing needles in the haystack of history. The thrilling time-tripping adventure that began with Blackout now hurtles to its stunning resolution in All Clear.

Other books in series

Readers Also Liked

by Elizabeth Moon
by Dima Zales
by Joan D. Vinge
by David Weber

Oxford Time Travel Series ranks on the following lists

leave a comment

Anonymous | 2015-01-12 06:08:13
I qualify because I've read one Connie Willis book - The Doomsday Book. However, since it was one of the absolute worst sci-fi / time travel novels I've ever read, it'll probably be the only Willis book I ever attempt.
Popular Lists with Oxford Time Travel Series
Best Science Fiction Series
Best Science Fiction Series Ranked 36 out of 72 72 Books 3132 Voters

Notice: Trying to get property of non-object in /home/best/public_html/lists/list/item.php on line 533

Find Us on Facebook