Glass Bead Game

by Hermann Hesse

0 avg rating
Book 7 of 10 in the Mind Expanding Science Fiction
2 votes 0 comments

The final novel of Hermann Hesse, for which he won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1946, The Glass Bead Game is a fascinating tale of the complexity of modern life as well as a classic of modern literature

Set in the 23rd century, The Glass Bead Game is the story of Joseph Knecht, who has been raised in Castalia, the remote place his society has provided for the intellectual elite to grow and flourish. Since childhood, Knecht has been consumed with mastering the Glass Bead Game, which requires a synthesis of aesthetics and scientific arts, such as mathematics, music, logic, and philosophy, which he achieves in adulthood, becoming a Magister Ludi (Master of the Game).


Other books in series

Readers Also Liked

by Arthur Charles Clarke
by Arthur C. Clarke
by Stephen King
by Mervyn Peake

Glass Bead Game ranks on the following lists

leave a comment

Popular Lists with Glass Bead Game
Mind Expanding Science Fiction
Mind Expanding Science Fiction Ranked 7 out of 10 10 Books 21 Voters

Notice: Trying to get property of non-object in /home/best/public_html/lists/list/item.php on line 533

Find Us on Facebook