Writing is hard!

Discussion in 'Writing' started by Jack Brewhouse, Jul 16, 2016.

1. Jack Brewhouse

Jack Brewhouse Well-Known Member

Sometimes I actually wonder why I bother. I've been writing for years. I was good at it, even at school. Once, when I was 7 I get taken out of class and told off for copying a story I had written. I hadn't, I just made it up myself but the teacher wouldn't believe me. My stories were always read out in class in secondary school and I came to realise it was what I wanted to do. I finished my first novel back in 1993 and then finished two more. Two of them got published straight away but the publisher was worse then useless and ended up going under. Then, life got in the way but now I'm back with a vengeance. I've published three on Amazon now.
    But it's really hard work.
    The world is a pretty screwed up place. I look at promoting my book and the advice is, find a platform, establish your market, etc. No. I'm a writer. I write about what interests me, writing is an art and shouldn't be turned into a cynical marketing ploy. 'Those Two Idiots' is the true story of a motorcycle ride. My friends wanted me to write it so they could see what I did. It's a silly book but has lots of points that were worthy of being made about how consumerism and greed is crushing the world.
    The Box is about a sex-robot who claims to be alive. It's about the search for identity and how humans refuse to treat anyone really different as being equal. It's told from the perspective of the lowest life-form, someone seen as nothing to really bring the point home.
    Serves' is about working for a living. It's also the about fighting for your rights to expression, it's a statement about how stupid the world has become. It's about being awake in a world where everyone is asleep. I write about what I believe in.