massive new 2.5kg graphic hardback book

Discussion in 'Science Fiction' started by Gary Burley, Mar 19, 2017.

1. Gary Burley

Gary Burley Full Member

Hi everyone

Thanks for letting me join

I’m a big Sci Fi bookreader, but I’ve just made what I think is the biggest sci fi graphic novel

I’m not here to sell it, I think they are probably gone by now, and it was expensive to make and expensive to buy too off Amazon, (no profit) so no more to be made after this as it was the biggest headache to make anyway.

I just wanted to make the biggest and most illustrated version of 20,000 Leagues under the sea

700 pages, 2.5kgs, 600 full page illustrations, spanning the whole story

I did it for myself really because I wanted the biggest best version of this story, for my shelf, bigger than an atlas and beautiful, I used to make books for a living, but selling it was an afterthought.

I’m only putting the pictures on for enjoyment and critique incase the book has gone already

But it should be shared on the forums with other fans of sci fi as it took long enough to make

Gary Burley

[​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
    the front and back cover

[​IMG]

[​IMG] thanks

TomTB, Boreas and Diziet Sma like this.
  2. Diziet Sma

Diziet Sma Administrator Staff Member

Welcome @Gary Burley! Beautiful work, thanks for sharing.

You must be a very dedicated artist. How long did it take you to complete 20 000 Leagues Under The Sea?

3. Gary Burley

Gary Burley Full Member

Hi Elvira,
    it took me 27 years on and off as a hobby, i worked to deadlines in jobs and such or on comics or games, but this was personal so i didn't care about time, i wanted it to highly finished across all 714 pages. i miss it, i'll have to find something else to help with OCD
    Gary

Last edited: Mar 20, 2017
    Diziet Sma likes this.
  4. Diziet Sma

Diziet Sma Administrator Staff Member