web analytics

Latest posts

Tidhar/Valente win Campbell/Sturgeon Awards

June 17, 2017

The winners of the John W. Campbell Memorial Award and the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award have been announced. The Campbell Award for Best Novel went to Central Station by Lavie Tidhar The Sturgeon Award for Best Short Story went to “The Future is Blue” by Catherynne M. Valente (Drowned Worlds ed. Jonathan Strahan)



June 16, 2017

Half way through June already, and time once more to cast our gaze around the internet. First up: congratulations to Naomi Alderman upon winning the Bailey’s Women’s Prize for Fiction for her novel, The Power. Moving on to multiple award-winner Samuel R. Delany, whose early short novel, Empire Star, is the starting point for this discussion of […]


5 of the Best: Richard Cowper

June 14, 2017

Richard Cowper was born John Middleton Murry Jr., the son of the eminent critic John Middleton Murry. It was probably not an easy background for someone who wanted to be a writer. Although his father at first encouraged his ambitions, when the young John showed him the manuscript for his first novel (written under the […]