web analytics

Nommo Award Shortlists announced

By / April 5, 2017 / no comments

The nominees have been announced for the very first Nommo Awards. The Nommo Awards recognise “works of speculative fiction by Africans.  We mean science fiction, fantasy, stories of magic and traditional belief, alternative histories, horror and strange stuff that might not fit in anywhere else.”

The shortlisted works are:

Best Novel

Azanian Bridges by Nick Wood (2016-04-01)  Azotus The Kingdom  Blackass: A Novel  Rosewater  Taty Went West

Azanian Bridges by Nick Wood
Azotus, the Kingdom by Shadreck Chikoti
Blackass by A. Igoni Barrett
Rosewater by Tade Thompson
Taty Went West by Nikhil Singh

Best Novella


Binti by Nnedi Okorafor
“The Flying Man of Stone” by Dilman Dila
“Hell Freezes Over” by Mame Bougouma Diene
“The Last Pantheon” by Tade Thompson and Nick Wood
“Ta O’reva” by Muthi Nhlema

Best Short Story

“The Marriage Plot” by Tendai Huchu
“Ndakusuwa” by Blaize Kaye
“Sundown” by Innocent Immaculate Acan
“Wednesday’s Story” by Wole Talabi
“Who Will Greet You at Home” by Lesley Nneka Arimah

Best Graphic Novel

June Xii

Avonome by Xavier Ighorodje & Stanley Obende
The Corpse Exhibition, Chronic No 3 ed. Ntone Edjabe
June 12 by Ibrahim Ganiyu, Chike Newman Nwankwo & Akinwade Ayodeji Akinola
Might of Guardian Prime by Jide Martin & Toheeb Deen Ipaye

About the author



Warning: require_once(/home/best/public_html/lists/include/db.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/best/public_html/blog/wp-content/themes/bestsciencefiction/includes/db.php on line 5

Fatal error: require_once(): Failed opening required '/home/best/public_html/lists/include/db.php' (include_path='.:/opt/cpanel/ea-php56/root/usr/share/pear') in /home/best/public_html/blog/wp-content/themes/bestsciencefiction/includes/db.php on line 5