web analytics

Nebula Awards Shortlist

By / February 20, 2017 / no comments

And the awards come so thick and fast it’s hard to keep up. Now the shortlists for the Nebula awards have been announced:


All the Birds in the Sky   Borderline (The Arcadia Project)   The Obelisk Gate (The Broken Earth)   Ninefox Gambit   Everfair: A Novel

All the Birds in the Sky, Charlie Jane Anders (Tor; Titan)

Borderline, Mishell Baker (Saga)

The Obelisk Gate, N.K. Jemisin (Orbit US; Orbit UK)

Ninefox GambitYoon Ha Lee (Solaris US; Solaris UK)

Everfair, Nisi Shawl (Tor)



Runtime   The Dream-Quest of Vellitt Boe   The Ballad of Black Tom   Every Heart a Doorway (Wayward Children)   A Taste of Honey

Runtime, S.B. Divya (Tor.com Publishing)

The Dream-Quest of Vellitt Boe, Kij Johnson (Tor.com Publishing)

The Ballad of Black Tom, Victor LaValle (Tor.com Publishing)

Every Heart a Doorway, Seanan McGuire (Tor.com Publishing)

“The Liar”, John P. Murphy (F&SF)

A Taste of Honey, Kai Ashante Wilson (Tor.com Publishing)



The Jewel and Her Lapidary   

“The Long Fall Up”, William Ledbetter (F&SF)

“Sooner or Later Everything Falls Into the Sea”, Sarah Pinsker (Lightspeed)

“Blood Grains Speak Through Memories”, Jason Sanford (Beneath Ceaseless Skies)

“The Orangery”, Bonnie Jo Stufflebeam (Beneath Ceaseless Skies)

The Jewel and Her Lapidary, Fran Wilde (Tor.com Publishing)

“You’ll Surely Drown Here If You Stay”, Alyssa Wong (Uncanny)


Short Story

The Starlit Wood: New Fairy Tales   Clockwork Phoenix 5 (Volume 5)

“Our Talons Can Crush Galaxies”, Brooke Bolander (Uncanny)

“Seasons of Glass and Iron”, Amal El-Mohtar (The Starlit Wood)

“Sabbath Wine”, Barbara Krasnoff (Clockwork Phoenix 5)

“Things With Beards”, Sam J. Miller (Clarkesworld)

“This Is Not a Wardrobe Door”, A. Merc Rustad (Fireside Magazine)

“A Fist of Permutations in Lightning and Wildflowers”, Alyssa Wong (Tor.com)

“Welcome to the Medical Clinic at the Interplanetary Relay Station│Hours Since the Last Patient Death: 0”, Caroline M. Yoachim (Lightspeed)


Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation

Arrival   Doctor Strange (2016) (Plus Bonus Features)   Kubo and the Two Strings   Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (With Bonus Content)   Zootopia (Plus Bonus Features)

Arrival, Directed by Denis Villeneuve, Screenplay by Eric Heisserer, 21 Laps Entertainment/FilmNation Entertainment/Lava Bear Films/Xenolinguistics

Doctor Strange, Directed by Scott Derrickson, Screenplay by Scott Derrickson & C. Robert Cargill, Marvel Studios/Walt Disney Studio Motion Pictures

Kubo and the Two Strings, Directed by Travis Knight, Screenplay by Mark Haimes & Chris Butler; Laika Entertainment

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story, Directed by Gareth Edwards, Written by Chris Weitz & Tony Gilroy; Lucusfilm/ Walt Disney Studio Motion Pictures

Westworld: ‘‘The Bicameral Mind’’, Directed by Jonathan Nolan, Written by Lisa Joy & Jonathan Nolan; HBO

Zootopia, Directed by Byron Howard, Rich Moore, & Jared Bush, Screenplay by Jared Bush & Phil Johnston; Walt Disney Pictures/Walt Disney Animation Studios


Andre Norton Award for Outstanding Young Adult Science Fiction or Fantasy Book

The Girl Who Drank the Moon   The Star-Touched Queen   The Lie Tree   Arabella of Mars (The Adventures of Arabella Ashby)

The Girl Who Drank the Moon, Kelly Barnhill (Algonquin Young Readers)

The Star-Touched Queen, Roshani Chokshi (St. Martin’s)

The Lie Tree, Frances Hardinge (Macmillan UK; Abrams)

Arabella of Mars, David D. Levine (Tor)

Railhead, Philip Reeve (Oxford University Press; Switch)

Rocks Fall, Everyone Dies, Lindsay Ribar (Kathy Dawson Books)

The Evil Wizard Smallbone, Delia Sherman (Candlewick)

Railhead   Rocks Fall Everyone Dies   The Evil Wizard Smallbone


The SFWA has issued the following change to the ballot:

Due to an unfortunate error in word-count verification, SFWA has to regretfully make a few changes to our final Nebula ballot. Cat Rambo’s work, “Red in Tooth and Cog” has been deemed ineligible for the category of Novelette for a word count of 7,070. Novelette consideration starts at 7,500 words.

With her current number of nominations, Ms. Rambo would be eligible to take the fourth-place spot on the current finalist list for short story, but she has declined and withdrawn her work from consideration as not to displace a three-way tie for the fifth position in that category.

In addition, SFWA would like to congratulate Bonnie Jo Stufflebeam, for her novelette, “The Orangery” published by Beneath Ceaseless Skies in December of 2016 which has been added to the ballot.

About the author



Warning: require_once(/home/best/public_html/lists/include/db.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/best/public_html/blog/wp-content/themes/bestsciencefiction/includes/db.php on line 5

Fatal error: require_once(): Failed opening required '/home/best/public_html/lists/include/db.php' (include_path='.:/opt/cpanel/ea-php56/root/usr/share/pear') in /home/best/public_html/blog/wp-content/themes/bestsciencefiction/includes/db.php on line 5