web analytics

Hugo shortlists announced

By / April 4, 2017 / no comments

The shortlists for this year’s Hugo Awards have now been announced.

Best Novel

All the Birds in the Sky  A Closed and Common Orbit (Wayfarers)  Death's End (The Three-Body Problem) by Cixin Liu (2016-09-20)  Ninefox Gambit  The Obelisk Gate (The Broken Earth)  Too Like the Lightning: A Novel (Terra Ignota)

All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders
A Closed and Common Orbit by Becky Chambers
Death’s End by Cixin Liu
Ninefox Gambit by Yoon Ha Lee
The Obelisk Gate by N. K. Jemisin
Too Like the Lightning by Ada Palmer

Best Novella 

The Ballad of Black Tom  The Dream-Quest of Vellitt Boe  Every Heart a Doorway (Wayward Children)  Penric and the Shaman  A Taste of Honey  This Census-Taker

The Ballad of Black Tom by Victor LaValle
The Dream-Quest of Vellitt Boe by Kij Johnson
Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire
Penric and the Shaman by Lois McMaster Bujold
A Taste of Honey by Kai Ashante Wilson
This Census-Taker by China Miéville

Best Novelette

Alien Stripper Boned From Behind By The T-Rex  The Art of Space Travel: A Tor.Com Original  The Jewel and Her Lapidary

Alien Stripper Boned From Behind By The T-Rex by Stix Hiscock
“The Art of Space Travel” by Nina Allan
“The Jewel and Her Lapidary” by Fran Wilde
“The Tomato Thief” by Ursula Vernon
“Touring with the Alien” by Carolyn Ives Gilman
“You’ll Surely Drown Here If You Stay” by Alyssa Wong

Best Short Story

The City Born Great: A Tor.com Original  A Fist of Permutations in Lightning and Wildflowers: A Tor.Com Original  That Game We Played During the War: A Tor.Com Original

 “The City Born Great” by N. K. Jemisin
“A Fist of Permutations in Lightning and Wildflowers” by Alyssa Wong
“Our Talons Can Crush Galaxies” by Brooke Bolander
“Seasons of Glass and Iron” by Amal El-Mohtar
“That Game We Played During the War” by Carrie Vaughn
“An Unimaginable Light” by John C. Wright

Best Related Work

The Geek Feminist Revolution: Essays  The Princess Diarist  Traveler of Worlds: Conversations with Robert Silverberg  The View from the Cheap Seats: Selected Nonfiction  Words Are My Matter: Writings About Life and Books, 2000-2016, with a Journal of a Writer’s Week

The Geek Feminist Revolution by Kameron Hurley
The Princess Diarist by Carrie Fisher
Traveler of Worlds: Conversations with Robert Silverberg by Robert Silverberg and Alvaro Zinos-Amaro
The View From the Cheap Seats by Neil Gaiman
“The Women of Harry Potter” posts by Sarah Gailey
Words Are My Matter: Writings About Life and Books, 2000-2016 by Ursula K. Le Guin

Best Graphic Story 

Black Panther, Volume 1: A Nation Under Our Feet, written by Ta-Nehisi Coates, illustrated by Brian Stelfreeze
Monstress, Volume 1: Awakening, written by Marjorie Liu, illustrated by Sana Takeda
Ms. Marvel, Volume 5: Super Famous, written by G. Willow Wilson, illustrated by Takeshi Miyazawa
Paper Girls, Volume 1, written by Brian K. Vaughan, illustrated by Cliff Chiang, colored by Matthew Wilson, lettered by Jared Fletcher
Saga, Volume 6, illustrated by Fiona Staples, written by Brian K. Vaughan, lettered by Fonografiks
The Vision, Volume 1: Little Worse Than A Man, written by Tom King, illustrated by Gabriel Hernandez Walta

Best Dramatic Presentation – Long Form 

Arrival  Deadpool  Ghostbusters  Hidden Figures  Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (With Bonus Content)

Arrival, screenplay by Eric Heisserer based on a short story by Ted Chiang, directed by Denis Villeneuve
Deadpool, screenplay by Rhett Reese & Paul Wernick, directed by Tim Miller
Ghostbusters, screenplay by Katie Dippold & Paul Feig, directed by Paul Feig
Hidden Figures, screenplay by Allison Schroeder and Theodore Melfi, directed by Theodore Melfi
Rogue One, screenplay by Chris Weitz and Tony Gilroy, directed by Gareth Edwards
Stranger Things, Season One, created by the Duffer Brothers

Best Dramatic Presentation – Short Form

Black Mirror: “San Junipero”, written by Charlie Brooker, directed by Owen Harris
Doctor Who: “The Return of Doctor Mysterio”, written by Steven Moffat, directed by Ed Bazalgette
The Expanse: “Leviathan Wakes”, written by Mark Fergus and Hawk Ostby, directed by Terry McDonough
Game of Thrones: “Battle of the Bastards”, written by David Benioff and D. B. Weiss, directed by Miguel Sapochnik
Game of Thrones: “The Door”, written by David Benioff and D. B. Weiss, directed by Jack Bender
Splendor & Misery [album], by Clipping

Best Editor – Short Form

John Joseph Adams
Neil Clarke
Ellen Datlow
Jonathan Strahan
Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas
Sheila Williams

Best Editor – Long Form

Vox Day
Sheila E. Gilbert
Liz Gorinsky
Devi Pillai
Miriam Weinberg
Navah Wolfe

Best Professional Artist

Galen Dara
Julie Dillon
Chris McGrath
Victo Ngai
John Picacio
Sana Takeda

Best Semiprozine

Beneath Ceaseless Skies, editor-in-chief and publisher Scott H. Andrews
Cirsova Heroic Fantasy and Science Fiction Magazine, edited by P. Alexander
GigaNotoSaurus, edited by Rashida J. Smith
Strange Horizons, edited by Niall Harrison, Catherine Krahe, Vajra Chandrasekera, Vanessa Rose Phin, Li Chua, Aishwarya Subramanian, Tim Moore, Anaea Lay, and the Strange Horizons staff
Uncanny Magazine, edited by Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas, Michi Trota, Julia Rios, and podcast produced by Erika Ensign & Steven Schapansky
The Book Smugglers, edited by Ana Grilo and Thea James

Best Fanzine

“Castalia House Blog”, edited by Jeffro Johnson
“Journey Planet”, edited by James Bacon, Chris Garcia, Esther MacCallum-Stewart, Helena Nash, Errick Nunnally, Pádraig Ó Méalóid, Chuck Serface, and Erin Underwood
“Lady Business”, edited by Clare, Ira, Jodie, KJ, Renay, and Susan
“nerds of a feather, flock together”, edited by The G, Vance Kotrla, and Joe Sherry
“Rocket Stack Rank”, edited by Greg Hullender and Eric Wong
“SF Bluestocking”, edited by Bridget McKinney

Best Fancast 

The Coode Street Podcast, presented by Gary K. Wolfe and Jonathan Strahan
Ditch Diggers, presented by Mur Lafferty and Matt Wallace
Fangirl Happy Hour, presented by Ana Grilo and Renay Williams
Galactic Suburbia, presented by Alisa Krasnostein, Alexandra Pierce and Tansy Rayner Roberts, produced by Andrew Finch
The Rageaholic, presented by RazörFist
Tea and Jeopardy, presented by Emma Newman with Peter Newman

Best Fan Writer

Mike Glyer
Jeffro Johnson
Natalie Luhrs
Foz Meadows
Abigail Nussbaum
Chuck Tingle

Best Fan Artist

Ninni Aalto
Alex Garner
Vesa Lehtimäki
Likhain (M. Sereno)
Spring Schoenhuth
Mansik Yang

Best Series 

The Craft Sequence by Max Gladstone
The Expanse by James S.A. Corey
The October Daye Books by Seanan McGuire
The Peter Grant / Rivers of London series by Ben Aaronovitch
The Temeraire series by Naomi Novik
The Vorkosigan Saga by Lois McMaster Bujold

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

Sarah Gailey (1st year of eligibility)
J. Mulrooney (1st year of eligibility)
Malka Older (2nd year of eligibility)
Ada Palmer (1st year of eligibility)
Laurie Penny (2nd year of eligibility)
Kelly Robson (2nd year of eligibility)

Well, what do you think of that list? One thing is clear, the Puppies have certainly ebbed away, barely half a dozen nominations between them. The winners will, as ever, be announced at the Worldcon.

About the author



Warning: require_once(/home/best/public_html/lists/include/db.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/best/public_html/blog/wp-content/themes/bestsciencefiction/includes/db.php on line 5

Fatal error: require_once(): Failed opening required '/home/best/public_html/lists/include/db.php' (include_path='.:/opt/cpanel/ea-php56/root/usr/share/pear') in /home/best/public_html/blog/wp-content/themes/bestsciencefiction/includes/db.php on line 5