web analytics

BSFA Award shortlists

By / February 19, 2017 / no comments

The shortlists for the BSFA Awards have been announced.

Best Novel

Daughter of Eden   A Closed and Common Orbit (Wayfarers)   Europe in Winter   Occupy Me   Azanian Bridges by Nick Wood (2016-04-01)

Chris Beckett – Daughter of Eden (Gollancz)

Becky Chambers – A Closed and Common Orbit (Hodder & Stoughton)

Dave Hutchinson – Europe in Winter (Solaris)

Tricia Sullivan – Occupy Me (Gollancz)

Nick Wood – Azanian Bridges (NewCon Press)

Best Short Fiction

Interzone #266 (September-October 2016): New Science Fiction & Fantasy (Interzone Science Fiction & Fantasy Magazine)   Now We Are Ten: Celebrating the First Ten Years of NewCon Press   Crises and Conflicts: Celebrating the First 10 Years of NewCon Press   What Is Not Yours Is Not Yours   The Arrival of Missives

Malcolm Devlin – “The End of Hope Street” (Interzone #266)

Jaine Fenn – “Liberty Bird” (Now We Are Ten, NewCon Press)

Una McCormack – “Taking Flight” (Crises and Conflicts, NewCon Press)

Helen Oyeyemi – “Presence” (What is Not Yours is Not Yours, Picador)

Tade Thompson – “The Apologists” (Interzone #266)

Aliya Whiteley – The Arrival of Missives (Unsung Stories)

Best Non-Fiction

Rob Hansen – THEN: Science Fiction Fandom in the UK 1930-1980 (Ansible Editions)

Erin Horáková – Boucher, Backbone and Blake: The Legacy of Blakes Seven (Strange Horizons)

Anna McFarlane – Breaking the Cycle of the Golden Age: Jack Glass and Isaac Asimov’s Foundation Trilogy (Adam Roberts: Critical Essays, Gylphi)

Paul Graham Raven – New Model Authors? Authority, Authordom, Anarchism and the Atomized Text in a Networked World (Adam Roberts: Critical Essays, Gylphi)

Geoff Ryman – 100 African Writers of SFF (Tor.com)

Ann & Jeff VanderMeer – Introduction to The Big Book of Science Fiction (Vintage)

Best Artwork

The 1000 Year Reich   Black Static #53 (July-August 2016): Dark Fiction and Film (Black Static Magazine)      Disturbed Universes   Central Station   The Iron Tactician (Newcon Press Novellas Set 1)

Juan Miguel Aguilera – Cover of The 1000 Year Reich by Ian Watson (NewCon Press)

Tara Bush – Transition (Cover of Black Static #53)

Suzanne Dean and Kai & Sunny – Cover of The Sunlight Pilgrims by Jenni Fagan (William Heinemann)

David A Hardy – Cover of Disturbed Universes by David L Clements (NewCon Press)

Sarah Anne Langton – Cover for Central Station by Lavie Tidhar (Tachyon Publications)

Chris Moore – Cover of The Iron Tactician by Alastair Reynolds (NewCon Press)

About the author



Warning: require_once(/home/best/public_html/lists/include/db.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/best/public_html/blog/wp-content/themes/bestsciencefiction/includes/db.php on line 5

Fatal error: require_once(): Failed opening required '/home/best/public_html/lists/include/db.php' (include_path='.:/opt/cpanel/ea-php56/root/usr/share/pear') in /home/best/public_html/blog/wp-content/themes/bestsciencefiction/includes/db.php on line 5